NightShift will automatically purge the shows you have already watched, starting with the oldest loaded show.  You will not get a message to tell you that the storage is full.  NightShift automatically delete shows (based on the first ones downloaded/watched) when it needs more space for new content.

You can choose to keep a particular show or movie forever by ‘pinning’ it.

screenshot-from-2016-11-03-13-58-53-png